Over for another year

Once again, I am feeling a bit bereft this week because the Tour de France finished on Sunday (or Monday, if you watched it later, as I did, given the coverage is on in the middle of the night here!)

No repeat victory for Cadel Evans this year, sadly. He just didn’t seem to have the legs, and the team strategy didn’t seem to give him enough support in the mountains, unlike the Sky team, which was amazing. Wiggins was a worthy winner, he was strong in the mountains and in the time trials, and he had such great team support. I do wonder what would have happened if Contador and Schleck had raced, and if Cadel had had a slightly different team structure, but the “what if” game isn’t really that productive, is it! And in any event, 7th is nothing to be sneezed at!

And it was so great to see an Australian team, Orica GreenEdge, race for the first time. They didn’t get a stage win or the Green Jersey, but both will come in time. I thought they did us proud.  I hope one day we’ll get over there and see them ride in person (every year when the Tour starts, husby mentions how good it would be…so fingers crossed!)

At least we have the Olympics starting this week! And hot on the heels of the Olympics is the Vuelta and then the US Open, so there’ll be plenty more cycling and sport for me to watch over the next few months!

I’ve given you a few flashes of one of my TdFKAL projects, my Daisy Do (v.2) – not yet finished, but about 2/3 of the way done, I think. I’m just going to keep going until it is long enough!

But I did qualify for a Green Jersey (the sprinter’s event) with this project:

Details:

Pattern:  Calm Cowl by Suzana Davidovic – yes, it’s a cowl!  I have never really been a fan of the cowl.  I don’t know why, because there are lots of great patterns for them out there, but they just havne’t appealed to me as an accessory.  But when I saw this pattern recently, and realised it was crochet, well, it just insisted I had to make it!  I really love the fabric – it looks a bit like knitted linen stitch, but it’s crochet!   And so easy.

The only thing I’m not so keen on is the joining method for the rounds.  I did it slightly differently to the designer, after trying her version for a few rows, and I’m not happy with either of them.  If I was to make it again, I think I’d turn and go the other way every second row, so at least the join would be vertical.  Others on Ravelry have said they didn’t join each round at all, but I also am not sure how well that would work with this particular stitch pattern.  I suppose I should try it!

Yarn:  Colinette Jitterbug in Vatican Pie – 2 skeins!  Stashbuster!  Woo hoo!

Hook:  5mm hook.  The pattern used a 5.5mm hook, but I thought that would be too loose and open.  I almost wish I had used the bigger hook, although I’m quite happy with the fabric as is.

Time:  30 June 2012 – 22 July 2012

Modifications:  I started with the required 211 chain, but after I’d done a few rows, I realised it wouldn’t be long enough to comfortably wrap around my neck twice.  So I ripped it (gasp!) and started again, with, I think, about 321 stitches.  As it turns out, I could have made it even longer, but I’m pretty happy with how it looks.

Yay for another new crochet accessory!

16 Comments

Filed under Crochet, FO 2012, stashbuster, TdF2012

16 responses to “Over for another year

  1. Great cowl .. lovely colour. Bet its warm. I’m not familiar with that yarn .. off to google it now. xoxox

  2. DrK

    i cant believe you ripped it either. but it was a wise decision, because it looks fantastic. not a fan of the cowl either, but this pattern, in that colour, gorgeous! yay for you in your green jersey. i miss Le Tour. time for some ‘lympics!

  3. I am very surprised you did a cowl. I think it was a good choice – and yay for Vatican pie. A big fan, as you know! You’re right about the stitch, it’s Very linen-like. Well done!

  4. travellersyarn

    So how would that pattern go in Wollmeise? I love the cowl – love them. Wear mine a lot, and now really want to use that Wollmeise Skarabaus to make another. Was thinking Honey Cowl, but now you are tempting me with crochet….

  5. WOW.. look how far you’ve gone with your Daisy, looking great. I love the yellow! The cowl is terrific, I would never had picked it as crochet it looks so knit-like.

  6. Madmad

    That is beautiful, Jane! You’ll get a ton of use out of that cowl – it is so lush and big (I always get sick of things and cut them off too early and regret it) and you’ll be able to wear it so many cozy ways. Love it! And you just CRUISED on your Daisy, too. How did you get so much done?! Good for you!

  7. Crochet really is quicker than knit. The Daisy is coming along so beautifully. You’ll have it in time for Spring and won’t that be perfect. I am still not a huge fan of cowls (although I wore one all winter last year and enjoyed it) but I love your red color.

  8. I have the calm cowl on my queue and I have the Tosh DK and I’m not afraid to use it for a big squishy version. Love yours in the Vatican Pie! Beautiful!

  9. love the daisy shawl and the red is great on that cowl.

  10. 1morerow

    The cowl looks gorgeous. I had to look twice as I thought it was knitted. I was not a fan of cowls but now I am as they are great to just throw on, looks good & it’s so useful (wrap twice if cold around the neck). In fact I am wearing one now.

  11. I’m also suffering post TdF deprivation syndrome, but like you, looking forward to the Olympics. We even have a few days of cycling at the beginning to help us with the transition.

    I still feel great admiration and envy for your daisy scarf. I keep putting off an attempt at re-learning my crochet skills, but this is inspirational.

  12. I love the colour of that cowl, and it really does look like linen stitch.

    My main what-if from the TdF this year was that I would have loved to see Cancellara keep going. Well, and to see Ryder not get taken out in that stupid crash.

  13. Agh I really need to learn to crochet… Your cowl is gorgeous, gorgeous stitch pattern and love the vatican pie. Its a fav of mine too. I’m not a big cycling fan so didn’t really follow the tour, but looking forward to two weeks of running and jumping and swimming and weight-lifting and gymnastics!

  14. Yes, your cowl is gorgeous and looks very luxurious!!
    I love your motif crochet, it looks like lots of wheels!!

Leave a Reply

