DIY month: Socks

Well, it wouldn’t be DIY month without a bit of knitting, now would it!  It was husby’s birthday earlier this month, and about 6 weeks ago I realised I had this sock WIP for him that I really should turn into an FO. I was still knitting the gussets on the first sock, so I set myself a bit of a challenge. But (funnily enough) it is amazing how much progress you can make when you are a monogamous knitter! I finished them with two days to spare!

Details

Pattern:  Just my regular plain sock recipe for husby – 72 stitches on 2.25mm sticks – I find the tighter gauge works well for his socks, as he is a bit harder in them than I am.  1×1 twisted rib cuff (because I like the way it looks!). A standard heel flap construction and wedge toe.

Yarn: Yarntini self-striping sock in Ginger Ice – I pulled out a bunch self-striping yarns for husby to choose from, all the awhile secretly hoping he’d choose this one. And he didn’t disappoint! It kind of amuses me, as people often say how much they like this particular combination of colours, whereas I am not actually that fond of it. Lucky husby really liked it!

Sticks: 2.25mm KnitPicks options fixed circular – I do like to magic loop my plain socks!

Time: 6 April – 4 October 2012

And for those interested in this yarn and more specifically how it wears, here is a pair of socks I made for myself in 2008.

I’m not particularly hard on my handknit socks, and I have about 10 or 12 pairs to choose from, so they don’t get heaps of wear, but aside from a bit of felting on the bottom of the heel and toe area, and some pilling, I think they have held up pretty well. Hopefully husby’s will do the same!

11 Comments

Filed under FO 2012, socks, stashbuster, Uncategorized

11 responses to “DIY month: Socks

  1. Ooh I like those! And in my favourite combo of teal and tan!

  2. I LOVE this combination! I’m hoping to join the yarntini club soon when it re-opens – she does great stripes.

  3. 1morerow

    Lovely socks & you matched the stripes so well. My husband also wears out his socks very fast and I am still wearing mine that are 4-5 years old.

  4. drk

    i love the smoothness of that yarntini, and she is very good with her combos and pattern repeats. i like the way she puts colours together that i wouldnt normally like either, but they seem to work. these look great on him!

  5. Love the colours of the socks – they look great 🙂

  6. Husby has good taste 🙂

  7. Great! I am new to socks but have a few pairs on the go now due to ‘the project’. I’m enjoying them even though the progress is slow. The colours of that yarn are amazing. Lucky hubby – now I know how much work a pair of socks can be, I don’t think a pair of hand-mades is a bad pressie at all!

  8. amy

    Those are great! Ha, my husband would never wear those though. It’s all black and grey and navy for him (which is why I rarely knit for him!).

    I also like your skirt in the last post, I love my easy skirts in the spring and summer.

  9. Great socks, but is there such a thing as a monogamous knitter? I don’t think that is possible.
    Hugs,
    Meredith

  10. I like the socks – well done on the structured choice offering. Thanks especially for the wear review, you know I love them!

  11. I love the colour combo and I think there is nothing more satisfying than a good self striping sock. It does wear quite well. I think Labradors, or elves, steal my socks…..

Leave a Reply

