DIY Month: Homemade Muesli

Husby has eaten muesli for a long time, but I was never that keen. Up until maybe a year or so ago – I can’t recall where I saw it (I know online, I just can’t recall where) – I found a recipe for homemade muesli. I thought it was a great idea, as it meant I could add what I liked, not what commercial muesli makers thought I should like (eg dried apricot – ewwwwwww!). It isn’t necessarily cheaper than buying it from the supermarket – but definitely cheaper than the gourmet versions!

Ingredients
500g rolled oats (I used homebrand ones – A LOT cheaper than branded)
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1/2 cup honey (I buy bulk tubs of honey)
1/2 cup slivered almonds*
1/2 cup pepitas*
1/2 cup sultanas*
1/4 cup currants*
1/4 cup pistachio nuts*
1/2 cup pitted dried dates*
1/4 cup dried cranberries*
1/4 cup wheatgerm*
*everything marked with an * is optional and can be substituted for fruit/nuts of your choice or omitted. Amount of each can also be varied to taste/preference. I have refined my method and ingredients over time so thought I’d share my learnings!

This will make about 1.2 kg of muesli (depending on volume of fruit and nut added!)

Method
Preheat oven to 180C.
I use two shallow(ish) baking trays – you can use one larger one but it will take longer to cook and is harder to stir during the cooking time! So this method is written for two trays.


Divide the oil evenly between the two trays. Tip the trays so the oil covers the entire base. Then add the honey, again dividing the amount evenly between the trays. Mix the honey and oil as best you can with a metal spoon (I use a soup spoon!). Mmmm sticky!


Divide the rolled oats, slivered almonds and pepitas between the two oiled-and-honeyed trays. Stir so that the mix is coated lightly and evenly with the honey-oil.
Bake for approx 20-30 minutes, removing very 10 minutes to stir and rotate each tray.


While the muesli is baking, chop any fruit and nuts that need chopping – I always cut pistachios in half, and dates into about 6ths.
When muesli is looking a nice light golden brown, remove from oven and leave to cool. As it will likely stick to the bottom of your (allegedly) non-stick trays, I have found it best to pour/scrape the just-out-of-the-oven muesli onto a sheet of baking paper, and leaving it to cool there.


Once cool, put muesli into container and add all other fruits and nuts, and wheatgerm. Give it a good stir, pop on the lid and feel proud of your yummy homemade muesli!


Don’t be too surprised, those who know me in real life, if you get this for Christmas!

9 Comments

Filed under Baking, DIY, home, Rose Red: Domestic Goddess

9 responses to “DIY Month: Homemade Muesli

  1. Jan

    I used to do this when my sons were growing up. I remember turning my back for a minute and burning the oats. That lot wasn’t money saving, LOL.

    Now I prefer the untoasted muesli whether my brand or bought, although there are some brands I prefer to others.

  2. DrK

    ah, YUM! so crunchy i can taste it 🙂 i love all those ingredients, and its nice to have that level of control, the commercial types are so high in sugar usually. looks like it would make a really nice slice too. mmmm slice…….

  3. I make my own granola, using a maple syrup recipe on Orangette’s blog. And it’s magnificent. I can’t eat raw seeds or dried fruits so it’s the perfect recipe, and lovely with fresh fruit and yoghurt.

    And it’s funny you say that about Christmas presents – because jars of granola are my DIY present this year too!

  4. ive made my own on and off for years too and have never made it toasted – always assumed it was just extra high in oils and sugar – which it seems to be but as long as you can control that – it’s probably always going to be less oil and sugar than shop bought! Delicious.

  5. Madmad

    I make my own, too; it’s a Melissa Clark recipe (available online now) that uses a bit of salt, too (tres trendy, no?). It never makes it to the breakfast table, because people scarf it right down as a snack. Very yummy.

  6. It looks so yummy, Can I get some for Christmas?
    Hugs,
    Meredith

  7. We make our own as well. You can use molasses instead of honey for a deep, rich flavor. It’s not one of my favorite things but I like the stuff we make much better than the rather expensive store bought stuff.

  8. 1morerow

    Looks so delicious. I make my own muesli too. It’s a great idea for Christmas.

  9. Looks delicious, must try it!!

Leave a Reply

