Windward, Cro!

You know how it is sometimes with a group of knitter friends – someone knits a great pattern, in great yarn, and then someone else does the same pattern, and then another, and then another, and they are all such great versions.

It was like this with this project, with one little twist – instead of the knit version, I made a crochet version. And I’m really very happy with it, it’s been my most worn accessory since I finished it!

20130530-091355.jpg
That’s the beauty of the Noro – it goes with everything (well, everything in my wardrobe that’s a neutral, which is just about everything!)

Details
Pattern: Zoe’s Lace by Julie Blagojevich – inspired by the very popular Windward by Heidi Kirrmaier. Blagojevich has converted quite a few popular knit scarf/shawl patterns to crochet, always acknowledges this in her designs and they are very reasonably priced too.

This was a great takealong project – relatively mindless but still interesting due to both the construction and of course the colour changes. It is constructed in sections or modules, each building on the previous one (so entirely seamless as well).

20130530-092429.jpg
It has a modern assymetrical look, which really appeals to me.

Yarn: Noro Sekku, 2x50g balls in colour 6. Love this yarn for this pattern. It does have a few thick slubby bits, which would be annoying in a regular laceweight yarn but somehow didn’t really bother me in the Noro. I did, however, cut out all the bright pink sections of the yarn, heh heh.

20130530-092704.jpg
Hook: 3.25mm Clover Soft Touch – I really like these hooks (although want to try out their new Amour hooks now! There’s always something new to try/buy, isn’t there)
Time: 23 January 2013 – 14 March 2013 – this went really quickly, I was finished before I even knew it.

20130530-093213.jpg
Modifications: I mostly made the pattern as written, except to make some of the sections a bit bigger/longer than the pattern specified. Mainly because my version was working out shorter than expected, and because I wanted to use as much of the yarn as possible! As it turns out, it is quite a good length, although it could be a fraction longer.

20130530-093541.jpg
Overall, I am really happy with this project – it was fun to make and I love wearing it!

10 Comments

Filed under Crochet, FO2013

10 responses to “Windward, Cro!

  1. DrK

    yes indeed there is always something new to try and buy. i havent been a huge fan of this pattern aesthetically but every single version ive seen looks great on its wearer, which tells me that sometimes a things wearability is more important than what it looks like on paper. it really does work in the noro and crochet, nice work!

  2. that’s a great Noro colourway (even with cutting out the hot pink!) Your shawl looks wonderful – I can see how well it would go with so many things

  3. I like the way it looks crocheted. And I am also a fan of the Clover hooks. They’re so much easier on my hands.

  4. Madmad

    Very pretty! And the cutting out the pink thing cracked me right up!

  5. This is gorgeous, I love the colours you have chosen.

  6. I love it, you can’t go wrong with Noro, well it is a bit pricey and there are those annoying joins right in the middle of a skein, but the beauty of the yarn wins out in the end. Clover crochet hooks are my favorite, I love the handles, it is very comfortable.
    hugs to you and well done.
    Meredith

  7. Love your post title 🙂 v nice t have something finished you’re getting lots of use from, I hope my sun struck will do just the same in my wardrobe.

  8. Very clever. And so pretty!

  9. Fabulous or rather what we’ve come to expect from you, Crochet Queen!

  10. A woman after my on heart, cutting out the colour you don’t like. I’ve been know to do that with sock wool too!! It is a gorgeous scarf, and the twists and turns are really interesting and it looks so good on your BareNakedLady!! I am an ‘inspired’ knitter too, I see something wonderful and I want to make it too. I am often inspired by seeing other versions than the original too. I love Connor’s hand helping with the displaying!!

Leave a Reply

