It’s that time of year again

Yes, the Tour de France kicks off tonight – the 100th TdF even. SO EXCITED! I have grown to love love love the TdF – not just for the racing, the spectacular scenery, the heroics, the crashes, the tactics, and the rise of the Aussies. But of course also for the KAL that goes along with it.

I’ve been KAL-ing for 6 years now, and it just gets better every year. There’s a great group on Ravelry, we write stage introductions for each stage and dissect the stage afterwards, we have team threads and jersey threads and everything else vaguely related to the race as well. It’s a lot of fun!

I have wound my yarn:

20130629-162124.jpg
(Quince and Co Lark)
and

20130629-162201.jpg
(Quince and Co Finch)

And have swatched:

20130629-162243.jpg
This is the Lark – for those interested, I got 5.5st/inch using 4mm sticks. It’s going to be a top-down striped raglan cardi for Connor, using the numbers from The Knitters Handy Book of Top Down Sweaters. Just need to take his measurements and highlight the numbers and I can start! Oh, and work out how thick to make the stripes. I’m thinking fairly thick, eg 6 or 8 rows.

The Finch is going to be a Haiku shawl – yes, of course it is an equal opportunity KAL! Well, who cares if it isn’t, I’ll be crocheting anyway!

Not sure if I will finish both projects in three weeks, but I’m going to give it a red hot go!

8 Comments

Filed under TdFKAL2013

8 responses to “It’s that time of year again

  1. DrK

    I’m sure you will finish both, and that swatch looks so lovely, gorgeous colour choices! I’m looking forward to Le tour as well this year, I have a good feeling about Cadel after the Giro. I’m not officially doing the KAL, but I am casting on new mitts today as a kind of symbolic gesture, I hope I get them done by the time they hit Paris!

  2. Love the Haiku shawl. The cardi for Connor will be fab in those colours too. Most admirable though is your commitment to le tour! Personally I love it for the virtual trip through France and added reason to have bread, cheese and Cabernet!

  3. Ohhh – ambitious. Bonne chance! With le grand depart only hours away I still haven’t decided whether to begin a special TdF project or use le tour as motivation to finish up some wips. Not very effective preparation!

  4. BeckW

    Good luck! I’ve been very tempted by the KAL but I think I’ll just be an unofficial member this time. I’m looking forward to seeing Cadel, the Green Edge team and Gabriel Gate’s culinary insights! Not looking forward to the bleary eyes each day.

  5. Madmad

    Good luck, Jane! Can’t wait to see how you do!

  6. The Tour is on in the background of my home right now as I have read your post. I love the scenery, and the racing. So much fun.
    Hugs and good luck on your projects.
    Meredith

  7. noname

    Happy bicycling!! Love the colours for Connor’s cardi and the shawl is a beautiful pattern. Hope there are no buses preventing you from reaching the finish line.

  8. look at your perfect swatch – so neat!! have fun this TdF, I love seeing your efforts each year, and hearing about it all šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

