Mini-celebration time!

I did it! I’ve sewn all those 414 squares together (or at least, into their colour blocks). It felt like it took FOREVER, as I worked on sewing almost solidly for three weeks! With very little respite. There’s nothing quite like a deadline to ensure I get things done!

So here it is, in all its (almost) sewn up glory (the white is not as stark as it looks in this photo, it’s more of a cream colour)

20130922-205131.jpg
Now, I need some advice – i need to do a simple one round double crochet (single crochet) edging – which colour should I use? I’m leaning towards the light grey, but happy to be convinced otherwise!

12 Comments

Filed under Crochet

12 responses to “Mini-celebration time!

  1. Light Gray would be amazeballs!

  2. I think the grey too… it’ll let the rest ‘pop’

  3. That is a LOT of sewing. Good for you getting it finished. I was thinking the darker gray. What do you think when you put the light gray and the dark gray up against the blanket, then take a few steps back and look at it?

    Good luck,
    Meredith

  4. Madmad

    Whoa! That is crazy-town! But sooooo worth it in the end, don’t you think? Definitely light gray!

  5. I think this requires a maxi-celebration – possibly featuring chocolate as a substitute for bubbly. The light or possibly the darker grey for the border. Either will be fine, so don’t spoil the celebration with too much angst.

  6. I don’t know how you did it! Your nephew and his bride are a lucky couple!
    The light gray would be perfect!

  7. I was thinking the red would finish it off really well but then I wondered what color your recipient’s room contains. Which one would be a better match? Or contrast?

    I like the red or the white. (always being contrary!)

  8. Sue

    My vote is the grey. Looks amazing Rose Red

  9. Much as I would like to vote green, I think grey would be perfect, I’d probably use a darker grey. Congratulations on your excellent perseverance though, what an effort, well done, it looks wonderful!!!

  10. Looking good. It’s an unusual and very attractive stitch pattern.

  11. DrK

    oh i am bad and late to comment and i know you’ve gone the light grey, which was a wise choice i think. i hope its been appreciated this weekend by its beneficiaries. knitting now??

  12. Wow, that’s a great achievement. Gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

