Yet another one skein wonder

Not that I’ve been on a run of one-skein wonders, nor do I have any of the books, but if you are looking for a nice easy crochet pattern to use up a ball of long-colour run striping sock yarn, then this is the ideal project!

20131124-103053.jpg
Details
Pattern: Noro Windowpane Scarf by Adrienne Lash. As mentioned, quick and easy, and also, bonus, free! You can of course, use any long colour change yarn (as I did) or even a solid or semi-solid yarn. But I really do think that it is a pattern that allows the yarn to do all the work when you use Noro or similar. I worked on this project during crochet clinics at the shop, when I didn’t have any students or wasn’t immediately helping anyone, and it received lots of favourable comments.

Yarn: 1 x 100g ball of Schoppel-Wolle Crazy Zauberball, in the grey/black/white colour (11532100). One ball in this width gives the perfect length scarf, I think. I was also tempted, while I was making it, to actually make two out of the same yarn and sew them together lengthwise to make it more of a wrap. I think it would look really effective with the colour changes being in different spots on both scarves, but sewn together (if that makes sense?).

20131124-104147.jpg
Hook: 3.5mm Clover soft touch hook

Time: 24 May – 8 November 2013 – it didn’t really take that long to make, but I usually only worked on it every fortnight during clinics, in between helping others and other projects too, so it would work up quite quickly – plenty of time to run one up for a Christmas present if you needed to! And something I just noticed, I bought this ball of yarn on November 13, 2012 – it’s so rare that I use yarn within a year of buying it, I almost need to celebrate that! By buying some more, perhaps, heh heh.

20131124-104644.jpg
Modifications: I made the scarf one repeat wider than the pattern specified – the good thing about this pattern is you can adapt it to any width. I also did the “solid” rows in treble (US dc) rather than half-treble, I just thought it looked better (and I prefer to work trebles than htr)

20131124-105217.jpg
I think it would also work really well as a cowl, just by joining the ends together. I can see myself making this pattern again (something I don’t often say!)

10 Comments

Filed under Crochet, FO2013, stashbuster

10 responses to “Yet another one skein wonder

  1. Love it. Good colour choice.

  2. Love the contemporary look and the colour progression! Aces.

  3. DrK

    those zauberballs are really very clever arent they. i have one in this colourway, if i crocheted i would make this. but i dont, so i might have to rely on you to make it for me (and yes, you must be running low on yarn, go buy more now)!

  4. Nice! I’ve been itching to do some crochet, but I’ve been wanting to try out tunisian or filet crochet first. So many projects, so little time!!

  5. Madmad

    That is really cute, Jane! I think you SHOULD celebrate by buying another skein of yarn!

  6. I think you might be right with the wrap idea, I think the color change being different would be a great way to do it. I love this pattern, I think I might already have it in my Ravelry library, if not it will be soon.

    Hugs to you and hope you are feeling well,
    Meredith

  7. I can definitely see this as a cowl too – lovely 🙂

  8. travellersyarn

    what Linda said. You keep tempting me with the crochet….

  9. It looks like it’s a difficult pattern but when you examine it, it looks like it would work up fairly quickly. It’s gorgeous!

  10. I love the colour changes and the latticed pattern. Being one skein is a bonus!!! Nice BareNakedLady modelling too.

Leave a Reply

