A little bit dotty

So I am now a Great Aunt. My niece had her first baby, a girl, this morning. A lovely healthy tall baby with the chubbiest cheeks ever. There’s nothing like being a Great Aunt to make you feel old! Lucky I have my own baby to remind me I’m not that old. Yet. Heh heh.

She didn’t find out the sex of the baby beforehand, which makes the pre-birth crafting slightly more challenging. I had decided on making her a small blanket, crochet for quickness and cotton for ease of use and because it will be a summer baby. But what colours? I pondered this for a while, and then an invitation for her baby shower arrived, using soft grey, yellow and white. Ta dah! Perfect. And even better, I had those colours in stash! So this is what I came up with:

20141118-222935.jpg
Details:
Pattern: Dotty Dots afghan by Teresa Chorzepa, from Lion Brand – a nice easy freebie, which lends itself to lots of variety just by changing the colours and/or size (as I did).
Yarn: Bendigo Woollen Mills 8ply/DK cotton, in glacier (grey), daffodil (yelllow) and parchment (cream). I used just over 200g (one ball!) of the grey, and much less of the other two colours – I think about 65g of the yellow and maybe 5g of the cream. It blocked out beautifully. Very light and drapey.

20141118-224226.jpg
Hook: 4mm KnitPro wooden hook.
Time: 16 August – 25 September 2014 – finished just in time to block it before the baby shower! A month and a bit – not bad for a small blanket! My crafting time is not what it used to be!

20141118-224555.jpg
Modifications: I made my version 5×5 squares – mostly because that’s all I had time to do. I would have liked to add an extra row but time beat me. But it will still be a good size for use in the pram or bassinette, I hope – it ended up being 70cm x 65cm (which made me laugh, as it should be square, but anyway!). I also did the edging slightly differently – a round of treble and then a round of dc, all in grey.

20141118-225140.jpg
Here it is with a stunt baby for scale!

8 Comments

Filed under baby, Crochet, Family, FO2014, stashbuster

8 responses to “A little bit dotty

  1. Madmad

    I don’t know what I like better: the blanket, “pre-birth crafting” or “stunt baby!” All awesome.

  2. That is about the cutest blanket ever and draped over that little one it is even better!
    Hugs,
    Meredith

  3. DrK

    such a lovely gift, and a beautiful colour combo. its handy you had one of those ‘here’s one i prepared earlier’ baby things lying around!

  4. I like your choices — “baby” but not “too baby”!

  5. So cute! I know what you mean about crafting for babies of unknown gender. I love the colors you chose.

  6. I’ve just finished reading all your blog posts for the entire year — moving house caused me to fall off the wagon in many ways, reading blogs is just one of them!
    Congratulations (belatedly) on the birth of little Harry. Have a wonderful Christmas and all the best to you and the family for 2015.

  7. kgirlknits

    a gorgeous colour combination for either gender! It’s a very effective pattern,too, especially on that “stunt baby” 😉

Leave a comment